Skip to main content

Joint Planning

GMA #2

Groundwater Management Area #2 consists of all or part of the following counties in the South Plains of Texas:

Andrews, Armstrong, Bailey, Borden, Briscoe, Castro, Cochran, Crosby, Dawson, Deaf Smith, Floyd, Gaines, Garza, Hale, Hockley, Howard, Lamb, Lubbock, Lynn, Martin, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Swisher, Terry and Yoakum counties.


Southern Ogallala Regional Groundwater Association was formed in April 2004. SORGA consists of six groundwater districts.
Garza County Underground Fresh Water Conservation District #1
Llano Estacado Underground Water Conservation District
Mesa Underground Water Conservation District
Permian Basin Underground Water Conservation District
Sandy Land Underground Water Conservation District
South Plains Underground Water Conservation District


West Texas Regional Groundwater Alliance was created in 1988. It consists of twelve Groundwater Districts.
The West Texas Regional Groundwater Alliance coordinates activities among member districts to promote their common objective of conserving, preserving, and providing for the beneficial use of groundwater resources. Members enjoy economies of scale by collaborating on planning,educational activities, workshops, model rules, well plugging, and legal services. Districts coordinate services, such as water quality analyses, mapping needs, computer training, and field equipment.